A day after the provincial election was held in October, the Ontario government confirmed that it would create a new statutory holiday called Family day. The new holiday will be celebrated the third Monday in February, starting February 18th, 2008. Adding Family Day to the calendar would give Ontario workers and families a total of nine statutory holidays per year, putting the province on par with Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia.

The eight other statutory holidays are:

New Year’s Day – Tuesday, January 1
Good Friday – Friday, March 21
Victoria Day – Monday, May 19
Canada Day – Tuesday, July 1
Labour Day – Monday, September 1
Thanksgiving Day – Monday, October 13
Christmas Day – Thursday, December 25
Boxing Day – Friday, December 26

Share this post on: